Sunday, June 01, 2014

Illinois Officially Becomes 19th Marriage Equality State

Since Pennsylvania's discriminatory marriage law was struck down by a federal judge last month we have been saying that there are 19 states with marriage equality, but that number was computed because we have been counting Illinois, even though it's law enacting marriage equality wouldn't go into effect until almost 8 months after it passed the state legislature last November. The fight for marriage equality in Illinois was long and hard, so that a homegrown politician like President Obama celebrated when it was achieved.

That day has finally occurred, as Illinois' marriage law went into effect today:
On Nov. 20, Illinois Governor Pat Quinn made Illinois the 16th state in the union to allow same-sex marriage when he signed SB10, the Religious Freedom and Marriage Equality Act, during a ceremony at at the UIC Forum in Chicago. 
When Illinois' marriage equality law was passed, lawmakers set June 1, 2014 as the date it would take effect. On Feb 21, Judge Sharon Coleman ruled the state's ban on gay marriage was unconstitutional. Illinois LGBT couples would not have to wait until June to marry. 
Cook County Clerk David Orr immediately began issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples. 15 of Illinois' other 101 counties followed suit. Last week, Orr announced his office has issued nearly 1,600 marriage licenses to same-sex couples in the last three months. 
Now, starting June 1, 2014, all Illinois counties must begin issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples.

Hat/tip to Joe Jervis

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin