Monday, February 10, 2020

2020 OSCARS: The Winners

The winners of the 92nd Annual Academy Awards were announced last night, and I correctly predicted 6 of 8 of the Top 8 categories, missing the big wins for "Parasite" in the Best Picture and Best Director categories, which I am quite happy about. Elsewhere I picked 17 of 24 categories correctly. Parasite ended with the most with 4 while both 1917, Once Upon a Hollywood and Ford v Ferrari ended with 3 Oscars each.

Best Picture
Best Director
Parasite – Bong Joon-ho
Best International Feature
Parasite – South Korea
Best Actress
Renee Zellweger – Judy
Best Actor
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Best Supporting Actor
Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Best Cinematography
1917 – Roger Deakins
Best Film Editing
Ford v Ferrari – Michael McCusker & Andrew Buckland
Best Original Screenplay
Parasite – Bong Joon Ho & Han Jin Won
Best Adapted Screenplay
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
Best Original Score
Joker – Hildur Guðnadóttir
Best Animated Feature
Toy Story 4
Best Documentary Feature
American Factory
Best Production Design
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Barbara Ling & Nancy Haigh
Best Costume Design
Little Women – Jacqueline Durran
Best Sound Editing
Ford v Ferrari – Donald Sylvester
Best Sound Mixing
1917 – Mark Taylor & Stuart Wilson
Best Visual Effects
1917 – Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler & Dominic Tuohy
Best Make-up and Hairstyling
Bombshell – Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan & Vivian Baker
Best Original Song
(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again – Rocketman (Elton John & Bernie Taupin)
Best Documentary Short
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)
Best Animated Short
Hair Love
Best Live Action Short
The Neighbors’ Window

Saturday, February 08, 2020

2020 OSCARS: My Predictions in the Top 8 Categories

Here is my annual prediction post for the 2020 Oscars, i.e. the 92nd Academy Awards. I really just consider the Top 8 categories on the blog but I play the Oscar prediction game like lots of other people (on other websites) where I think about all 24 categories. Last year I predicted 4 of 8 categories correctly and 12 of 24 overall. This year I have only seen a few of the nominated pictures.

Best Picture:
  • “Ford v Ferrari” 
  • “The Irishman” 
  • “Jojo Rabbit” 
  • “Joker” 
  • “Little Women” 
  • “Marriage Story” 
  • 1917” 
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” 
  • Parasite” 
SHOULD WIN: Parasite.
WILL WIN: 1917.

  • Martin Scorsese (“The Irishman”)
  • Todd Phillips (“Joker”)
  • Sam Mendes (“1917”)
  • Quentin Tarantino (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”)
  • Bong Joon Ho (“Parasite”)
SHOULD WIN: Bong Joon Ho, Parasite.
WILL WIN: Sam Mendes, 1917.

Lead Actor:
  • Antonio Banderas (“Pain and Glory”)
  • Leonardo DiCaprio (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”)
  • Adam Driver (“Marriage Story”)
  • Joaquin Phoenix (“Joker”)
  • Jonathan Pryce (“The Two Popes”)
SHOULD WIN: Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory (Dolor y Gloria).
WILL WIN: Joaquin Phoenix, Joker.

Lead Actress:
  • Cynthia Erivo (“Harriet”)
  • Scarlett Johansson (“Marriage Story”)
  • Saoirse Ronan (“Little Women”)
  • Charlize Theron (“Bombshell”)
  • Renee Zellweger (“Judy”)
SHOULD WIN: Renee Zellwegger, Judy.
WILL WIN: Renee Zellwegger, Judy.

Supporting Actor:
  • Tom Hanks (“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”)
  • Anthony Hopkins (“The Two Popes”)
  • Al Pacino (“The Irishman”)
  • Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”)
  • Brad Pitt (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”)
SHOULD WIN: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.
WILL WIN: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.

Supporting Actress:
  • Kathy Bates, “Richard Jewell”
  • Laura Dern (“Marriage Story”)
  • Scarlett Johansson (“Jojo Rabbit”)
  • Florence Pugh (“Little Women”)
  • Margot Robbie (“Bombshell”)
SHOULD WIN: Laura Dern, Marriage Story.
WILL WIN: Laura Dern, Marriage Story.

Adapted Screenplay:
  • Taika Waititi (“Jojo Rabbit”)
  • Steve Zaillian (“The Irishman”)
  • Anthony McCarten (“The Two Popes”)
  • Greta Gerwig (“Little Women”)
  • Todd Phillips and Scott Silver (“Joker”)
SHOULD WIN: Little Women
WILL WIN: Jojo Rabbit.

Original Screenplay:
  • Rian Johnson (“Knives Out”)
  • Noah Baumbach (“Marriage Story”)
  • Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns (“1917”)
  • Quentin Tarantino (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”)
  • Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (“Parasite”)
SHOULD WIN: Parasite.
WILL WIN: Parasite.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin