Sunday, July 09, 2017

2017 WIMBLEDON: Tournament Update (R16 on Monday)

Wimbledon 2017 is humming along, and thanks to good weather there is again no play on the middle Sunday of the tournament, leading to what people call Manic Monday where all 32 players in the men's and single's draws compete on the same day (for the first and last time in the tournament). This is the fabled 4th round of Wimbledon, where a win gets you into the Quarterfinals. By form, the top 16 seeds should be the ones remaining but on the men's side the draw looks like:

  • Murray(1)-Paire
  • Querrey(24)-Anderson
  • Nadal(4)-Muller(16)
  • Roberto Bautista Agut(18)-Cilic(7)
  • Raonic(6)-Zverev(10)
  • Dimitrov(13)-Federer(3)
  • Thiem(8)-Berdych(11)
  • Mannarino-Djokovic(2)

This is pretty good, with 11 of the Top 16 seeds still in the tournament. On the women's side we have:

  • Kerber(1)-Muguruza(14)
  • Radwanska(9)-Kuznetsova(7)
  • Rybarikova-Martic
  • Vandewghe(24)-Wozniacki(5)
  • Konjuh(27)-V. Williams(10)
  • Ostapenko(13)-Svitolina(4)
  • Konta(6)-Garcia(21)
  • Azarenka-Halep(2)
which is basically the on par with the men's results, with 10 of the Top 16 reaching the Round of 14. The issue on the women's side is that there is only one player in the tournament who has won Wimbledon before, and it is Venus Williams who has won 5 of them. However, there are still several major champions remaining: Muguruza(1), Kuznetsova(2), Azarenka(2),Ostapenko(1) and Kerber(2).
The men's side has The Big four each of whom is a multi-Wimbledon champion and it is widely expected that one of he big 4 will this year's tournament just like they have every  year since 2003.

On Manic Monday, which matches get put on Centre Court is always a fascinating look into the priorities (and values) of the All-England club, and this year is no different. There is an unwritten rule that only one women's match is played on Centre Court each day. Here is the Order of Play for Monday July 10th:

  • Ana Konjuh[27] (CRO)-V. Williams[10] (USA)
  • Andy Murray[1] (GBR)- Benoit Paire (FRA)
  • Grigor Dimitrov[13] (BUL)-Roger Federer[3] (SUI)

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin