Saturday, September 08, 2012

2012 US OPEN: Finals Weekend Schedule UPDATE!

Wowsa! A weather advisory in New York City area has suspended play on "Super Saturday" of the finals weekend of the 2012 US Open. This means that for the 5th year in a row, the men's final will be played on Monday!

Already Andy Murray has dispatched Tomas Berdych in a tough 4-set match 5-7 6-2 6-1 7-6(6) in truly horrendous conditions. It was so windy it visibly and negatively affected the level of play of both players. But happily for the Brit, he is in his 5th major final, and will have atleast 48 hours to rest before he needs to try to win his first major title.

The updated schedule is
Sunday 11am EDT/8am PDT: Men's semifinal featuring Novak Djokovic (2) SRB versus David Ferrer (4) ESP resumed at 2-5, Ferrer serving; televised on ESPN2 
Sunday 4:30pm EDT/1:30pm PDT: Women's final featuring Victoria Azarenka (1) BLR versus Serena Williams (4) USA; televised on CBS. 
Monday 4pm EDT/1pm PDT: Men's final featuring Andy Murray (3) GBR against the winner of Djokovic/Ferrer; televised by CBS.
As I said before, it is growing increasingly unsupportable for the USTA to claim that it does not need a solution for inclement weather.

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin